Levy County Planning Commission

Planning & Zoning


Levy County Planning Commission - Advisory Board

The Levy County Planning Commission is comprised of five members and four alternates, who shall be residents of the County and appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.  One Non-Voting member, representing the School Board of Levy County.  They are an advisory to the Board of County Commissioners and makes recommendations on all requests for rezoning, special exceptions, planned unit developments, conditional use permits, comprehensive plan policy amendments, and final subdivision plats.  Additionally, they prepare and recommend to the Board of County Commissioners for the adoption, rules, and regulations governing the approval of maps and plats of the subdivision of land within the geographical boundaries of the county in accordance with the requirements maps and plats Chapter 177 - 202 Florida Statutes - The Florida Senate

Their term lengths are 4 years with the exception of the non-voting school board member.

All appointments shall continue to be effective until their successors are chosen.  Any vacancy in membership shall be filled for the unexpired term by the Board of County Commissioners who shall be filled for the unexpired term by the Board of County Commissioners who shall have the authority to remove any member for cause, upon written charges, after a public hearing.

The Planning Commission is responsible for preparing and recommending to the Board of County Commissioners the adoption of the Comprehensive Plan for the physical development of the county and to perfect it from time to time.  In conducting its work, the planning commission may consider and investigate any subject matter tending to the development and betterment of the County and may make recommendations as it may deem advisable concerning the adoption thereof to the Board of County Commissioners. The Comprehensive Plan shall be based upon and include appropriate studies of the location and extent of present and anticipated use of land, population, social and economic resources and problems, and other useful data.

Member Name Member Type Term Expiration
James "JD" Holmes III - Vice Chair District 1 4/2027
Thomas J. Harper District 2 4/2024
Christopher Mills District 3 4/2026
Parks Wilson - Chair District 4 4/2025
Kelly Bishop District 5 4/2026
John Lott Non-Voting School Board Member 4/2024
Robert Lowyns Alternate Member 4/2025
Vacant Alternate Member 4/2024

Meetings are held the first Monday of the month at 5:45 P.M. (unless otherwise re-scheduled due to Holidays), at the Levy County Government Center 310 School Street, Bronson, FL 32621.

*January 8, 2024 July 1, 2024
February 5, 2024 August 5, 2024
March 4, 2024 *September 9, 2024
April 1, 2024 October 7, 2024
May 6, 2024 November 4 2024
June 3, 2024 December 2, 2024

*Meetings were scheduled the second Monday on Month Due to Holidays.

Submittal deadline is the first work day of the month.

Mandatory Sufficiency Review Meetings are scheduled two-weeks before submittal deadline.