Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill



Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill - RESTORE Act

The Deepwater Horizon oil spill occurred on April 20, 2010.  As a result, there was a serious impact to the Gulf of Mexico, Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.   The Senate and the House passed legislation and on July 6, 2012, the President signed into law the Federal Resources and Ecosystems Sustainability, Tourist Opportunities, and Revived Economies of the Gulf Coast States Act of 2012 (RESTORE Act). 

The RESTORE Act created a specific funding allocation to the affected states and, in particular, a specific designation to the counties affected in Florida. Levy County has been identified as one of the 23 affected/impacted counties.  The Florida counties eligible for RESTORE Act funds are as follows:

Disproportionately Affected (The 8)Area Impacted by the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill

  1. Bay
  2. Escambia
  3. Franklin
  4. Gulf
  5. Okaloosa
  6. Santa Rosa
  7. Wakulla
  8. Walton

Nondisproportionately Impacted (The 15)

  1. Charlotte
  2. Citrus
  3. Collier
  4. Dixie
  5. Hernando
  6. Hillsborough
  7. Jefferson
  8. Lee
  9. LEVY
  10. Manatee
  11. Monroe
  12. Pasco
  13. Pinellas
  14. Sarasota
  15. Taylor

 The RESTORE Act is divided into 5 Components also known as Pots.  The RESTORE Act components are as follows:

  1. Direct Component or Pot 1 (Counties are eligible for funding)
  2. Comprehensive Plan Component or Pot 2
  3. Spill Impact Component or Pot 3 (Counties are eligible for funding)
  4. NOAA Science Program Pot 4
  5. Centers of Excellence Pot 5

A portion of the penalties under the RESTORE Act will come directly to Levy County (Direct Component, Pot 1), and other portions may be available for projects that may affect the County through the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council (Comprehensive Plan Component, Pot 2) and through the Gulf Coast Consortium (Spill Impact Component, Pot 3).